The Seven Hills Of Rome

Sep 16, 2021 238

BY: Sonja Anderson

The famed Seven Hills of Rome – i Sette Colli di Roma – Palatine, Aventine, Caelian, Capitoline, Esquiline, Quirinal, and Viminal have loomed over The Eternal city ever since its existence.

Though the city now contains more than seven hills, (like The Janiculum, for example), these seven were the ones all contained within The Servian Wallswhich were built in 4th Century BCE to protect the city from invasion. Lying at the East of The River Tiber and making up central Rome’s rugged landscape, visiting each of these seven hills is bound to elevate your knowledge of Italy’s capital.

Read more


You may be interested