Premio Giornalistico Amerigo - 14th edition. Award ceremony at the American Consulate in Florence

Dec 08, 2022 817

The Awards Ceremony of the 14th Amerigo Journalism Prize was held yesterday morning in Florence at the American Consulate General. In attendance were Consul General Ragini Gupta, host of the Ceremony, Florence Prefect Valerio Valenti and Florence City Councilor Elisabetta Meucci; for Amerigo, National President Andrea Gumina, Secretary General Massimo Cugusi, Florentine Chapter coordinator Michele Ricceri and journalist Piero Meucci, coordinator of the Technical Committee.

Prizes were awarded to journalists: Claudio Salvalaggio for News Agencies, Maria Teresa Cometto for Newspapers, Giancarlo Loquenzi for Radio, Claudio Pagliara for Television, Riccardo Pratesi for Sports, Umberto Mucci for Web Sites, and Davide Mamone for Journalists under 35 dedicated to Antonio Megalizzi. The America Award went to journalist Jason Horowitz, Rome correspondent for The New York Times.

The Europe Award, which Enam (European American Alumni Associations) dedicates to a European journalist from an enlarged Europe of fifty-two states, went to David Patrician, correspondent from Germany. 

Premio Amerigo, established by the Amerigo Association in 2009 in Florence, rewards those journalists who with passion, continuity and objectivity inform Italians about the United States of America, making the relationship between Italy and America better and stronger.

The America Award honors a journalist who, conversely, tells Americans about Italy. Historical sponsor of the Award is Locman Italy, the quality wristwatch factory on the island of Elba, and Fondazione CR Firenze.

The Amerigo Association ( gathers Italian alumni, those who, over time, have been selected by the U.S. Embassy in Rome to participate in cultural exchanges promoted by the U.S. Department of State.

SOURCE: Associazione Amerigo

You may be interested