Playoff committee adds Arkansas State AD, ex-Army Chief of Staff, and former Texas A&M coach

Jan 22, 2019 131

BY: Nick Bromberg

The College Football Playoff committee has some significant military experience once again. The playoff announced Wednesday that Gen. Ray Odierno would join the committee in 2019. Odierno, a former Army Chief of Staff, joins the committee with Arkansas State athletic director Terry Mohajir and former Texas A&M coach R.C. Slocum.

Odierno is the chairman of USA Football and served as the Army Chief of Staff from 2011-15. He played football at West Point in 1972 and 1973. He’s the second person with high-level military experience to join the committee. Former Secretary of Defense Condoleezza Rice was a member of the inaugural CFP selection committee.

Read more


You may be interested