Fabiola Gianotti wins 2018 Tate Award for International Leadership in Physics

Jan 22, 2019 223

The American Institute of Physics (AIP) announced today that it has awarded the 2018 John Torrence Tate Award for International Leadership in Physics to Italian physicist Fabiola Gianotti. Named after the celebrated American physicist John Torrence Tate, the Tate medal was established in 1959 and is awarded every two years to non-U.S. citizens for their leadership, research contributions, and service to the international physics community. The award consists of a certificate of recognition, a bronze medal and a $10,000 prize. Previous winners include Edoardo Amaldi, Yu Lu, Jean Trân Thanh Vân and last year, Neil Turok.

Gianotti will receive the award at the American Physical Society (APS) April meeting in Denver, Colorado. The 2018 Tate Medal Selection Committee wrote that the medal was awarded "in recognition of her leadership as Spokesperson of the ATLAS international collaboration and as Director-General of CERN in promoting science as a vehicle for broad international cooperation."

Read more

SOURCE: https://www.eurekalert.org

You may be interested